Nine Lives

image
If I had nine lives,
then today I have died twice,
I’ve given all my efforts,
But none of them suffice

My whiskers are now bent,
My fur now left shaggy,
It seems so apparent,
That I’ve been through tragedy

I’m often left out puzzled
What have I done?
My swagger is now over,
My swiftness long gone

And I have died before,
I seemed to lose count,
It doesn’t matter anymore,
For nothing, I will amount

I wish I was a phoenix
Each death, I rise anew
But I am just a feline,
Soon enough, I’ll be due

 

-The DementED

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

